Remember this type? Flat. White. No fancy domed lids, no ergonomic, lip-embracing sipping opening, virtually nothing that tells the casual observer how fashionable and overpriced your coffee is. And that's important. Good thing those days are gone, am I right?
The thing is, I didn't realize that there was an actual accepted and recommended method to opening these. I never once stopped to study this lid and its lines, its raised bumps and apparent perforations. You may be thinking right now, where the hell is she going with this?
Had I taken a moment out of my extraordinary and fascinating java-soaked life to look at this lid, I might have easily discerned how it was designed to work. But nope, I just wanted to get at my coffee: I'd grab that little tab with my teeth, and slowly bite and rip (yes, with my teeth like little scissors) a small, half-circle shaped opening sort of right between the parallel pair of perforations below that center button. This took a minute or so to get it done, but it worked, and I'd sip my coffee from this new, diy opening.
On this fateful afternoon, as we sat in his car, getting settled to take off again with our coffee, he watched me, sitting in the passenger seat, slowly gnaw a sipping hole into my lid. Then he said, "What...are..you..doing?"
"What?"
"Why did you make a hole like that?" He was staring at my lid. He looked a little worried.
"Uh, so I can drink my coffee?"
Silence.
Then he lifted his own cup and he showed me how he'd pulled the tab back, along the perforations, and that it folded back PERFECTLY to lock on to the button. And he moved it back and forth, like a hinge. Locked and unlocked.
I was stunned.
I married him.
Tonight, some 16 years later, I took our 10 year old son to the village Christmas parade. It was just the two of us, since he had to work. After the parade and tree lighting, he got free hot cocoa. It was in a tall disposable paper cup, conspicuously without a lid. I thought back to that afternoon in the car for a moment.
By the time we walked back to the car, the cocoa was still too hot for him to drink, so I knew we'd have to contend with a big, open cup of cocoa sloshing around in the car. I drove slowly, and we made it back to the house with no spills. "How is it now?" I asked him.
"It's ok. It's not as good as yours..." (Don't fall for it people, he just wants marshmallows)
"Aw, buddy - we could add some milk and mini marshmallows to it, ok?"
"Yes!"
I still had my coat on and I put the cup on the kitchen counter. I found the marshmallows, opened the bag, and as I went to drop in a handful, my coat sleeve knocked over the cup and all of its sugary brown chocolate liquid across the counter. It rushed into the utensil drawer, and the drawer below that, and made it into 2 cabinets as well. We both stared at the spill. It was just the worst looking thing. I opened the drawer and saw my forks and spoons floating in cocoa. I must have made a telling face, because my son said quickly, "It's fine, I didn't really want it, mom. It's totally ok!"
As I cleaned up the mess and washed every utensil we own, I felt aggravated. What started out as a pleasant evening turned into an annoying, unexpected mop-up. I thought, "should have had a lid" and then I realized that once again, a disposable drink lid changed the course of my day. Dramatic? Maybe. But see, the first time there was a lid and the outcome was good - the second time, the lid wasn't there and we had a big, sticky spill. I know, I know, marrying someone and cleaning up a spill are completely different things. Wait - are they?
Basically, what I'm saying is: Always use a fucking lid.

